Subsection 1.—The Governor General of Canada.

The Governor General is appointed by the King as his representative in Canada, usually for a term of five years, with a salary fixed at £10,000 sterling per annum and forming a charge against the consolidated revenue of the country. The Governor General is bound by the terms of his commission and can exercise only such authority as is expressly entrusted to him. He acts under the advice of his Ministry, which is responsible to Parliament, and, as the acting head of the executive, summons, prorogues, and dissolves Parliament and assents to or reserves bills. In the discharge of these and other executive duties, he acts entirely by and with the advice of his Ministry (the Governor General in Council). The royal prerogative of mercy in capital cases, formerly exercised on the Governor General's own judgment and responsibility, is now exercised pursuant to the advice of the Ministry. The practice whereby the Governor General served as the medium of communication between the Canadian and the British Governments has been given up; since July 1, 1927, direct communication between His Majesty's Government in Canada and His Majesty's Government in Great Britain has been instituted.

A list of the Governors General from the time of Confederation, with the dates of their appointment and assumption of office, is given in Table 1.

Name.	Date of Appointment.	Date of Assumption of Office.
Viscount Monck, G.C.M.G. Lord Lisgar, G.C.M.G. The Earl of Dufferin, K.P., K.C.B., G.C.M.G. The Marquis of Lorne, K.T., G.C.M.G. The Marquis of Lorne, K.T., G.C.M.G. Lord Stantey of Preston, G.C.B. The Earl of Aberdeen, K.T., G.C.M.G. The Earl of Minto, G.C.M.G. Earl Grey, G.C.M.G. Field Marshall H.R.H. the Duke of Connaught, K.G. The Duke of Devonshire, K.G., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O. General the Lord Byng of Vimy, G.C.B., G.C.M.G., M.V.O. Viscount Willingdon of Ratton, G.C.S.I., G.C.I.E., G.B.E. The Earl of Bessborough, G.C.M.G.	May 22, 1872 Oct. 5, 1878 Aug. 18, 1883 May 1, 1888 May 22, 1893 July 30, 1896 Sept. 26, 1904 Mar. 21, 1911 Aug. 19, 1916 Aug. 2, 1921 Aug. 5, 1926	July 1, 1867 Feb. 2, 1869 June 25, 1872 Nov. 25, 1878 Oct. 23, 1883 June 11, 1888 Sept. 18, 1893 Nov. 12, 1898 Dec. 10, 1904 Oct. 13, 1911 Nov. 11, 1916 Aug. 11, 1921 Oct. 2, 1926 April 4, 1931

1.—Governors General of Canada, 1867-1932.

Subsection 2.—The Ministry.

A system of government based upon the British, by which a Cabinet or Ministry (composed of members of the House of Commons or the Senate), responsible to Parliament, holds office while it enjoys the confidence of the people's representatives, is found in Canada. The Cabinet is actually a committee of the King's Privy Council for Canada. Without enlarging upon the features of the system, it may be sufficient to note that the Cabinet is responsible to the House of Commons, and, following established precedent, resigns office when it becomes evident that it no longer holds the confidence of the people's representatives. Members of the Cabinet are chosen by the Prime Minister; each of them generally assumes charge of one of the various Departments of the Government; although one Minister may hold two portfolios at the same time, while other members may be without portfolio.